Sunday, November 23, 2008

"Observe" at Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA


October 11, 2008 — January 9, 2009

Alyce de Roulet Williamson Gallery
Art Center College of Design
1700 Lida Street
Pasadena, CA 91103

Gallery hours:
Tuesday through Sunday:
12 noon to 5 pm
12 noon to 9 pm

A collaboration between Spitzer Science Center, California Institute of Technology and Alyce de Roulet Williamson Gallery, Art Center College of Design.

In August 2007 scientists managing the infra-red NASA Spitzer Space Telescope began a series of conversations with five contemporary artists.

Intended to inform the artists' creation of original artworks, the conversations were a port of OBSERVE, a collaboration between Art Center College of Design and California Institute of Technology. Deep space exploration reveals spectacular concepts that torque our everyday understanding of reality -- black hole physics, multiple universes, string theories, time distortions -- and that challenge our human-centered cultural traditions and beliefs.

OBSERVE commissioned Southern California artists Lita Albuquerque, Lynn Aldrich, Dan Goods, George Legrady, and Daniel Wheeler to engage with Spitzer's knowledge and technology resources, and explore the implications of its discoveries.

Sunday, November 09, 2008

Digital Eyes 2008

Digital Eyes 2008, New Esthetic Dimensions in Computer Visualization Technology.

November 6, 2008 – January 18, 2009
Los Angeles Municipal Art Gallery (map)
4800 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90027

Gallery Hours
Thursday – Sunday, 12 noon - 5 pm
(First Friday of the month, 12 noon – 9 pm)
(323) 644-6269

DigitalEyes 2008 – 2009 is a mind-bending overview of new esthetic dimensions in computer visualization technology. The exhibition exists in both the real and virtual worlds, representing innovative and spectacular work by artists from artists from twenty-five countries, including Argentina, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and USA.